Sun
12

Rhode Island Book Launch: A Scourge of Vipers by Bruce DeSilva

Sunday, April 12, 2015

2:00 PM-3:30 PM

Cost: Free and Open to All

Providence Public Library
150 Empire Street
Providence, RI 02903

Meeting Room (3rd Floor)

Sun, 2015-04-12 14:00 - 15:30

Rhode Island Book Launch!  A Scourge of Vipers

Liam Mulligan (Volume 4)

To solve Rhode Island's budget crisis, the state's colorful governor, Attila the Nun, wants to legalize sports gambling; but her plan has unexpected consequences. Organized crime, professional sports leagues, and others who have a lot to lose—or gain—if gambling is made legal flood the state with money to buy the votes of state legislators.

Liam Mulligan, investigative reporter for The Providence Dispatch, wants to investigate, but his bottom-feeding corporate bosses at the dying newspaper have no interest in serious reporting. So Mulligan goes rogue, digging into the story on his own time. When a powerful state legislator turns up dead, an out-of-state bag man gets shot, and his cash-stuffed briefcase goes missing, Mulligan finds himself the target of shadowy forces who seek to derail his investigation by destroying his career, his reputation, and perhaps even his life.

Bruce DeSilva's A Scourge of Vipers is at once a suspenseful crime story and a serious exploration of the hypocrisy surrounding sports gambling and the corrupting influence of big money on politics.

Reviews

Starred Review from Library Journal:   “DeSilva’s Edgar and Macavity Award-winning books (most recently Providence Rag) are a consistently well-written hard-boiled series. Few of the regular characters have roles here. Still, this excellent addition features a bit of romance, a lot of action, plenty of snappy repartee, and social commentary on the fate of newspaper journalism and the corrupting role of money in the political process. QUALITY ALL THE WAY.”

Starred Review from Publisher’s Weekly: “The lean prose and clever plotting will remind hard-boiled fans of Loren Estleman’s Amos Walker novels.”

“Bruce DeSilva writes a story in the tradition of Hammett and Higgins, and he writes it with the knowledge of an old-time police reporter. DeSilva knows cops, corruption in eastern cities, wiseguys, rounders, bounders, gamblers, and midnight ramblers. He writes with authority about the issues of our times, and he does it with honesty and candor. If you want a hardboiled view of how a city actually works, this is your book.” – Mystery Writers of America Grand Master James Lee Burke.

 BRUCE DeSILVAspent forty-one years as a journalist before writing Rogue Island, his first novel, which won the 2011 Edgar and Macavity Awards for Best First Novel. DeSilva’s crime fiction has been listed as a finalist for the Shamus, Anthony, and Barry Awards; and has been published in ten foreign languages. His short stories have appeared in Akashic Press's award-winning noir anthologies. And his book reviews have been published in The New York Times Sunday Book Review, Publishers Weekly, The Strand Magazine, and scores of other print and online publications.

Book Sale and Signing to follow.

Signups closed for this Event