Library News

Submitted by tamason on Thursday October 01, 2015

Providence Public Library's Hosts Visit on Sunday, October 4

WGBH and WSBE Rhode Island PBS host production at historic locations; general public invited to watch tapings, be part of the show, and get their own family history questions

Submitted by tamason on Friday September 11, 2015

Teens invited to explore Downcity’s past & present and gain hands-on production skills

Providence Public Library (PPL) welcomes teens in grades 7 through 12 to sign up for its fall Teen Squad program to begin Monday

Submitted by tamason on Thursday September 10, 2015

Starting a Small Business? Learn the Basics to Get Started


Submitted by tamason on Wednesday September 02, 2015

Site now includes the John Hutchins Cady Research Scrapbooks, a valuable and popular architectural resource

Providence Public Library (PPL) has launched its new Digital Library, available at

Submitted by tamason on Tuesday September 01, 2015

Providence Public Library will hold a free electronic recycling drop-off event in collaboration with Indie Cycle, LLC at the Library (150 Empire Street, Providence) from 3 – 6 pm on Wednesday

Submitted by tamason on Monday August 24, 2015

Come with Friends to Solve the Mystery!

Mark your event calendar now, tell your Halloween-loving friends and plan to be there for the 2nd annual MYSTERIUM – The Eternal Masquerade --

Submitted by tamason on Wednesday July 15, 2015

Providence Public Library’s summer exhibit "Iterations: From Paris to Providence" (in the Providence Journal Rhode Island Room, 1st

art, artists, exhibit
Submitted by tamason on Monday July 13, 2015

Families can get their free passports at Providence Public Library and Providence Community Libraries 

Submitted by tamason on Tuesday June 30, 2015

Summer Program Gives Teens Hands-on Experience & Skills while Exploring Providence’s Historic Music Venues


learning, summer, Teens
Submitted by tamason on Thursday June 18, 2015

Beginning Monday, July 6, Providence Public Library (PPL) will be open an additional five hours each week.  At the same time, the Library’s weekly schedule will change to the following:

Monday    12:30 – 8:30 pm

Library hours