Mon
24

Come, Sit a Spell: Memories from a Forgotten Neighborhood

Monday, November 24, 2014

Mon 12:00 AM-Sat 12:00 AM

Cost: Free

Providence Public Library
150 Empire Street
Providence, RI 02903

Reference Department (1st Floor)

Repeats every day on January, November, December every Sunday and every Monday and every Tuesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Sun Jan 18 2015 except Thu Nov 27 2014, Thu Dec 25 2014, Fri Dec 26 2014, Thu Jan 01 2015.
Tue, 2014-11-18 (All day) - Sun, 2015-01-18 (All day)
Thu, 2014-11-20 (All day) - Tue, 2015-01-20 (All day)
Fri, 2014-11-21 (All day) - Wed, 2015-01-21 (All day)
Sat, 2014-11-22 (All day) - Thu, 2015-01-22 (All day)
Sun, 2014-11-23 (All day) - Fri, 2015-01-23 (All day)
Mon, 2014-11-24 (All day) - Sat, 2015-01-24 (All day)
Tue, 2014-11-25 (All day) - Sun, 2015-01-25 (All day)
Fri, 2014-11-28 (All day) - Wed, 2015-01-28 (All day)
Sat, 2014-11-29 (All day) - Thu, 2015-01-29 (All day)
Sun, 2014-11-30 (All day) - Fri, 2015-01-30 (All day)
Mon, 2014-12-01 (All day) - Sat, 2015-01-31 (All day)
Tue, 2014-12-02 (All day) - Sun, 2015-02-01 (All day)
Thu, 2014-12-04 (All day) - Tue, 2015-02-03 (All day)
Fri, 2014-12-05 (All day) - Wed, 2015-02-04 (All day)
Sat, 2014-12-06 (All day) - Thu, 2015-02-05 (All day)
Sun, 2014-12-07 (All day) - Fri, 2015-02-06 (All day)
Mon, 2014-12-08 (All day) - Sat, 2015-02-07 (All day)
Tue, 2014-12-09 (All day) - Sun, 2015-02-08 (All day)
Thu, 2014-12-11 (All day) - Tue, 2015-02-10 (All day)
Fri, 2014-12-12 (All day) - Wed, 2015-02-11 (All day)
Sat, 2014-12-13 (All day) - Thu, 2015-02-12 (All day)
Sun, 2014-12-14 (All day) - Fri, 2015-02-13 (All day)
Mon, 2014-12-15 (All day) - Sat, 2015-02-14 (All day)
Tue, 2014-12-16 (All day) - Sun, 2015-02-15 (All day)
Thu, 2014-12-18 (All day) - Tue, 2015-02-17 (All day)
Fri, 2014-12-19 (All day) - Wed, 2015-02-18 (All day)
Sat, 2014-12-20 (All day) - Thu, 2015-02-19 (All day)
Sun, 2014-12-21 (All day) - Fri, 2015-02-20 (All day)
Mon, 2014-12-22 (All day) - Sat, 2015-02-21 (All day)
Tue, 2014-12-23 (All day) - Sun, 2015-02-22 (All day)
Sat, 2014-12-27 (All day) - Thu, 2015-02-26 (All day)
Sun, 2014-12-28 (All day) - Fri, 2015-02-27 (All day)
Mon, 2014-12-29 (All day) - Sat, 2015-02-28 (All day)
Tue, 2014-12-30 (All day) - Sun, 2015-03-01 (All day)
Fri, 2015-01-02 (All day) - Wed, 2015-03-04 (All day)
Sat, 2015-01-03 (All day) - Thu, 2015-03-05 (All day)
Sun, 2015-01-04 (All day) - Fri, 2015-03-06 (All day)
Mon, 2015-01-05 (All day) - Sat, 2015-03-07 (All day)
Tue, 2015-01-06 (All day) - Sun, 2015-03-08 (All day)
Thu, 2015-01-08 (All day) - Tue, 2015-03-10 (All day)
Fri, 2015-01-09 (All day) - Wed, 2015-03-11 (All day)
Sat, 2015-01-10 (All day) - Thu, 2015-03-12 (All day)
Sun, 2015-01-11 (All day) - Fri, 2015-03-13 (All day)
Mon, 2015-01-12 (All day) - Sat, 2015-03-14 (All day)
Tue, 2015-01-13 (All day) - Sun, 2015-03-15 (All day)
Thu, 2015-01-15 (All day) - Tue, 2015-03-17 (All day)
Fri, 2015-01-16 (All day) - Wed, 2015-03-18 (All day)
Sat, 2015-01-17 (All day) - Thu, 2015-03-19 (All day)
Sun, 2015-01-18 (All day) - Fri, 2015-03-20 (All day)

The Center for Public Humanities at Brown University, the Providence Public Library's Story Seekers, and Urban Pond Procession are pleased to announce “Come Sit a Spell: Memories from a Forgotten Neighborhood” – an immersive art and oral history installation at the Providence Public Library. Visitors are invited to come sit a spell in the immersive art installation, and delve into the history of the former West Elmwood neighborhood through an oral history soundscape of West Elmwoodians sharing their memories.

The West Elmwood neighborhood once stood where the Huntington Industrial Park stands today, along the Providence/Cranston border. The neighborhood was deemed “blighted” by the Providence Redevelopment Agency in the 1950s and slotted for redevelopment into the industrial park as a way to attract new businesses to Providence. Ultimately, over five hundred homes were demolished. While the neighborhood is gone, memories of a neighborhood still remain.  

These memories have been captured as part of a collaboration between the Center for Public Humanities at Brown University and Urban Pond Procession – a community organization that advocates for the health of urban ponds. While the memories of the West Elmwood neighborhood have been showcased in a variety of other exhibits, this art installation is a special reimagining of the Shadows and Sounds project, created especially for the Providence Public Library. The installation accompanies the launch of Story Seekers, a new library program in which amateur oral historians capture Rhode Island oral histories to be incorporated into the Library's Rhode Island Oral History collection.