Mon
4

Drumming Class with Sidy Maiga

Monday, January 4, 2016

6:30 PM-7:30 PM

Cost: $15/class; email lmoulton@provlib.org to register

Providence Public Library
150 Empire Street
Providence, RI 02903

Auditorium (3rd Floor)

Repeats every week until Mon Apr 25 2016 except Mon Jan 18 2016, Mon Feb 15 2016.
Mon, 2016-01-04 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-01-11 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-01-25 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-02-01 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-02-08 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-02-22 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-02-29 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-03-07 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-03-14 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-03-21 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-03-28 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-04-04 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-04-11 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-04-18 18:30 - 19:30
Mon, 2016-04-25 18:30 - 19:30

Drumming Class with Sidy Maiga 

A jembefola is one who gives the djembe voice. In the hands of a master, a drum comes alive. Its voice sings, laughs, whispers, electrifies. Sidy Maiga is just such a player.

For over 16 years, he has been sharing the joy of drumming with audiences around the world. 

Sidy Maïga is a master percussionist from Bamako, Mali, West Africa, whospecializes in djembe and dun dun.Though trained in the complex traditional rhythms of Mali, Sidy is also well versed in Caribbean and hip-hop rhythms.

He has performed with a variety of different artists, including Percussion Fassia du District de Bamako, Troupe Artistique du District de Bamako, Coumba Sira Koîta, Saly Sidibé, Mamoun Sidibé, Paye Camara, Touman Diabaté, Binké Traoré, Tata Pound, Troupe Baden’ya, The Jamal Jackson Dance Company, New Works World Traditions and many others.

A gifted teacher, Sidy has taught percussion in New York, Ohio, Connecticut, Massachusetts and Providence. He has taught workshops in schools throughout Rhode Island, including the University of Rhode Island, Rhode Island College and Brown University, as well as at many elementary Schools and afterschool programs around the state.

In 2011, Sidy was named the RI State Council on the Arts Folk Arts Fellowship winner and was selected as one of the MacColl Johnson Fellows.

TO REGISTER, email:

lmoulton@provlib.org