Wed
27

Fall Exhibition: New Type

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

12:30 PM-5:30 PM

Cost: Free

Providence Public Library
150 Empire Street
Providence, RI 02903

Providence Journal Rhode Island Room (1st Floor)

Repeats every day until Tue Oct 24 2017 .
Fri, 2017-09-22 12:30 - 17:30
Sat, 2017-09-23 12:30 - 17:30
Sun, 2017-09-24 12:30 - 17:30
Mon, 2017-09-25 12:30 - 17:30
Tue, 2017-09-26 12:30 - 17:30
Wed, 2017-09-27 12:30 - 17:30
Thu, 2017-09-28 12:30 - 17:30
Fri, 2017-09-29 12:30 - 17:30
Sat, 2017-09-30 12:30 - 17:30
Sun, 2017-10-01 12:30 - 17:30
Mon, 2017-10-02 12:30 - 17:30
Tue, 2017-10-03 12:30 - 17:30
Wed, 2017-10-04 12:30 - 17:30
Thu, 2017-10-05 12:30 - 17:30
Fri, 2017-10-06 12:30 - 17:30
Sat, 2017-10-07 12:30 - 17:30
Sun, 2017-10-08 12:30 - 17:30
Mon, 2017-10-09 12:30 - 17:30
Tue, 2017-10-10 12:30 - 17:30
Wed, 2017-10-11 12:30 - 17:30
Thu, 2017-10-12 12:30 - 17:30
Fri, 2017-10-13 12:30 - 17:30
Sat, 2017-10-14 12:30 - 17:30
Sun, 2017-10-15 12:30 - 17:30
Mon, 2017-10-16 12:30 - 17:30
Tue, 2017-10-17 12:30 - 17:30
Wed, 2017-10-18 12:30 - 17:30
Thu, 2017-10-19 12:30 - 17:30
Fri, 2017-10-20 12:30 - 17:30
Sat, 2017-10-21 12:30 - 17:30
Sun, 2017-10-22 12:30 - 17:30
Mon, 2017-10-23 12:30 - 17:30
Tue, 2017-10-24 12:30 - 17:30

The Daniel Berkeley Updike Collection at PPL is one of the country’s richest sources of typographical artifacts, and every year we add new materials to make it even stronger. In recent years we’ve tried to stretch the boundaries of what we collect, expanding our geographic reach into new areas of the world.

All of the items on display were purchased within the last two years, and many represent the only copies known to exist. (Unique items are marked with an exclamation point: ! ) This exhibition accompanies our annual Updike Prize for Student Type Design. The prize ceremony will take place on October 23 at the Metcalf Auditorium at the Rhode Island School of Design. Student entries will be on display in the third floor exhibition cases during that week.