A map of Narragansset Bay - part of the Rhode Island Collections

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Collections

Rhode Island Collections

Catalogs

Published Rhode Island Collection materials, such as books, pamphlets and periodicals, are included in our online catalog. 

The Rhode Island Index card catalog is located in our Reference Department.  The Index has been maintained since the early 1900s and offers access the materials in the collection, including published volumes, photographs, maps, illustrations, vertical files as well as a daily index to the Providence Journal and Evening Bulletin for 1900-2004.

The Providence Journal card catalog indexed newspaper articles published in the Journal and Evening Bulletin from 1905-1960s. This catalog was maintained by the Journal editorial staff and donated to PPL in the 1970s. It is available by appointment with the Curator of Rhode Island Collections.

Archival Materials

Search all Special Collections archival collection finding aids on our website.

ProvLibDigital.org – Search  digitized copies of items from our Collections with free downloads available.

RIAMCO – Search finding aids for our manuscript and visual archival collections.

Genealogy Databases

Ancestry Library Edition (available at PPL only; Firefox browser recommended)

American Ancestors (available at PPL only)

Rhode Island Historical Cemeteries

Providence Journal Obituaries and Death Notices, 1980-current (available using your PPL library card)

Other Rhode Island Resources

Genealogy Research Guide

Catalogs

Published Rhode Island Collection materials, such as books, pamphlets and periodicals, are included in our online catalog. 

The Rhode Island Index card catalog is located in our Reference Department.  The Index has been maintained since the early 1900s and offers access the materials in the collection, including published volumes, photographs, maps, illustrations, vertical files as well as a daily index to the Providence Journal and Evening Bulletin for 1900-2004. It is available without an appointment.

The Providence Journal card catalog indexed newspaper articles published in the Journal and Evening Bulletin from 1905-1960s. This catalog was maintained by the Journal editorial staff and donated to PPL in the 1970s. It is available by appointment with the Curator of Rhode Island Collections.

The James N. Arnold Collection card catalogs index individuals noted in his research including burial locations, probate records and more. It is available by appointment with the Curator of Rhode Island Collections.

Databases

Ancestry Library Edition (available at PPL only; Firefox browser recommended)

American Ancestors (available at PPL only)

Rhode Island Historical Cemeteries

Providence Journal Obituaries and Death Notices, 1980-current (access via your PPL library card)

Directories & Helpful Books

Vital Records

Indexed Vital Records: 

Original Vital Records Certificates: 

Available only at the RI Dept. of Health, Office of Vital Records or individual town & city offices.

Periodicals

Rhode Island Historical Society

Rhode Island Historical Society Research Center has a vast collection of materials. They include:

  • Extensive library of published family histories and genealogies
  • Passenger lists for Port of Providence and Bristol/Warren
  • Historic R.I. newspapers with state-wide coverage
  • Family Bible collection
  • Records of the Religious Society of Friends in New England (Quakers) on microfilm
  • Large collection of manuscript and visual archival materials

Rhode Island State Archives

The R.I. State Archives collects permanent records created by state government offices. For genealogy, check them out for:

  • City Directories across the state
  • State Census records
  • Records of state militias and military regiments thru World War I
  • Maps and atlases

Rhode Island Judicial Records Center

The R.I. Supreme Court, Judicial Records Center Archives hold a number of state court records that can be helpful.

  • Civil and Criminal court cases, 1671-1900
  • Divorce cases, 1671-1900
  • Naturalization papers, 1671-1982
  • Adoption cases, 1944- (records are closed)

Town Libraries & Historical Societies

There are many local public libraries and historical societies which hold materials helpful for research.

The Rhodi Directory is the best source to locate what institutions might have collections relevant to your research.

Individual Town Offices

Usually, these records are found in the Town Clerk’s office. For City of Providence, see the Providence City Archives or Dept of Vital Records.

  • Tax records
  • Probate records & estate inventories
  • Land records (intentions-to-build, tax assessments)
  • Street and plat maps
  • Adoption cases, 1866-1944

Other

American French Genealogical Society specializes in French Canadian ancestral research.

New England Historic Genealogical Society has a vast library collection with a regional focus.

Rhode Island Genealogical Society supports members’ research and provides many learning opportunities.

Architecture and Building Research Guide

Rhode Island Index

The Rhode Island Index card catalog is located in our Reference Department.  The Index has been maintained since the early 1900s and offers access the materials in the collection, including published volumes, photographs, maps, illustrations, vertical files as well as a daily index to the Providence Journal and Evening Bulletin for 1900-2004.

Try the following SUBJECT TERMS:
Architecture
Buildings
Doors & doorways
Houses
Streets – [City] – [Street]
by building name – EX. Brown (John) House

Directories

  • Providence City Directories, 1847-current
  • Providence Almanac and Business Directories, 1824-1900
  • Providence House Directories, 1892-1935

Bibliography

These selected published works are a great introduction to Rhode Island architecture. We also hold many books and pamphlets specific to individual towns and neighborhoods, architectural styles and historic periods so don’t stop with these!

Image Collections

The bulk of our image collections are searchable on ProvLibDigital.org. Search using street names or the names of the original owners or companies.

Specific collections include:
Rhode Island Photograph Collection
Rhode Island Postcard Collection
John Hutchins Cady Research Notebooks
Harold Mason Photograph Collection 
Rhode Island Mills and Mill Villages Collection
Historic American Building Survey files (not digitized)

Research Your Providence House History

If your property is located in the City of Providence, you can learn a lot about it’s history at Providence City Hall.

  1. Visit the Assessor’s Office to convert the street address into a plat & lot number and to obtain the “Chain of Title”.
  2. Visit the Recorder of Deeds office to reconstruct the chain of ownership and sales using the “Chain of Title” in the Deed records.
  3. Visit the City Archives to locate wills and other records regarding the administration of estates, building permits and intentions to build and tax books and ledgers.

Documentation of Historic Properties

Check to see if written histories of your property have already been created.

Rhode Island – National Register Search – look up single properties or search by architectural style or building function.

Mary A. Gowdey Library of House Histories – search by Providence street names to find published histories by address.

Library of Congress, Historic American Building Survey – includes building histories, surveys, architectural  plans and photographs for historically important structures

Other Important Resources

There are a wide number of other important libraries and organizations that hold important architectural resources.

Other independent projects:

Rhode Island Newspapers

There are over 1700 newspapers that have been published in Rhode Island!  Here’s your guide for what you can find online and in print, both at PPL and elsewhere.

At PPL

Databases: 

Microfilm: 

  • Providence Journal, 1829-2016
  • Evening Bulletin, 1863-1995
  • Manufacturing & Farmers Journal, 1820-1907
  • Manufacturing Jeweler, 1884-1900
  • Providence Business News, 1986-1992
  • Providence Patriot, 1821 & 1824
  • Providence Visitor, 1947-1948
  • Rhode Island American, 1818-1821
  • Rhode Island Country Journal, 1833-1893

Print: 
Special Collections also holds print issues of various Rhode Island newspaper titles. Check the our catalog for individual titles.

Free Access at Other Libraries

Bristol:

Cranston:

Pawtucket:

Providence Journal Historical Database, 1827-current, available in person at:

  • Community College of R.I.
  • Brown University
  • Providence College
  • Rhode Island College
  • Rhode Island Historical Society Research Center
  • Roger Williams University
  • University of Rhode Island

Rhode Island Historical Society Research Center is the state repository of record for historic Rhode Island newspapers. They should be your first stop to access these papers on microfilm.

National Newspapers

Chronicling America – Website that provides fully searchable access to digitized newspapers for free to anyone via the Library of Congress. Currently represents newspapers from 48 U.S. states and 2 U.S. territories.

In 2019, PPL and RIHS partnered under the National Digital Newspaper Project grant to digitize historic Rhode Island newspaper and add them to the Chronicling America site. Digitization began in 2020 and content is expected to be uploaded beginning in summer 2020 onwards. Learn more about the project at rinewspapers.org.

U.S. Newspaper Directory – A full list of all newspapers published in the United States since 1690. It’s a great way to find out what papers covered a particular location and time period. From there, librarians can help you find out where you could access specific titles.

 

Rhode Island Legislative & Legal History

Current Political Resources

Rhode Island Constitution

Directory of Government Officials  – Find out the names and contact information for all current R.I. state and municipal government officials and state agencies.

Legislator Index – search the R.I. State Library for a record of all state legislators from 1872-1989. Index is arranged alphabetically by last name.

Election Results – Check the results of state and local elections in Rhode Island back to 1976.

Executive Orders Database – search the R.I. State Library for executive orders from 1973 to present.

Historical Political Resources

Print resources at PPL

The Rhode Island Collections at PPL are a designated clearinghouse for state publications. As such, we hold various state documents including Proceedings of the R.I. House and Senate, State Budgets, General Laws and various state commission and agency reports.

Providence Journal-Bulletin Almanac, 1887-1997 – Published annually until 1997 by the Providence Journal, this is an all-around fantastic resource for city and state information including statistics, government agencies, election results, and much more. 

Rhode Island Manual, 1867-present –  Published annually by the state, this includes historical information about the state and municipalities as well as annual information related to various state agencies. 

Other Libraries

R.I. State Library 

R.I. State Archives

R.I. State Judicial Records Center

Providence City Archives 

 

 

Georgraphical Resources

Resources at PPL

Special Collections at PPL holds a wide array of maps, atlases and nautical charts that document the geography of Rhode Island from the 17th century to the present. Included are atlases, plats, plots, topographical, transportation and highway maps, illustrated maps and nautical charts.

Many of these maps are not yet cataloged and so patrons are encouraged to contact the Curator of R.I. Collections for specific requests.

Maps

John Hutchins Cady Map Collection – The collection consists of 108 maps collected or created by architectural historian John Hutchins Cady. The collection consists of plans, plats, plots, topographical, hand drawn and illustrated maps.

John Hutchins Cady Scrapbooks – many of Cady’s scrapbooks included copies of various maps and are available to search digitally.

Atlases

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (Username: PROVIDENCE ; Password: publiclibrary)

Owners and Occupants of the lots, houses and shops in the town of Providence, Rhode Island in 1798 (compiled in 1914)

1870 Atlas of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations

1875 City Atlas of Providence, Rhode Island

1882 Atlas of the City of Providence and Environs

1883 Atlas of the City of Newport, Rhode Island

1891 Topographical Atlas of the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations

1895 New Topographical Atlas of Surveys, Providence County

1895 New Topographical Atlas of Surveys, Southern R.I.  comprising the Counties of Newport, Bristol, Kent & Washington

1907 Atlas of the City of Newport and towns of Middletown and Portsmouth, Rhode Island

1908 Atlas of the City of Providence, Rhode Island

1917 Richards’ Standard Atlas of the Providence Metropolitan District, vol. 2

1918 Plat Book of the City of Providence, Rhode Island

1926 Plat Book of the City of Providence, Rhode Island

1938 Atlas of Providence and part of Kent County

Other Resources

Rhode Island Land Evidence Records 

Rhode Island Maps and Data – R.I. Geographic Information System includes a huge set of geospatial data.

Map Room – Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

  • RI Maps & Aerial Photos – View and compare aerial photos of the RI landscape from 1939 to 2014, or explore topographic maps, and NOAA charts of marine waters.

The Newport Map Project 

WardMaps LLC – Digitized copies of maps & atlases from across the globe including a wide range from Rhode Island

David Rumsey Map Collection – A large collection of digitized historic maps from across the world.

Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America – includes redlining maps for Providence in 1936 & Pawtucket / Central Falls in 1935.