Academic Search Elite

Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

America’s Newspapers

A PPL library card is required to access this database.

Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Enjoy access to this resource through June 30, 2020.

American Ancestors

This database is only available in the library.

American Ancestors offer family history researchers the most-used genealogical society website in the world provides access to more than 1.4 billion records spanning twenty-two countries covering the United States, the British Isles, continental Europe, and beyond, including one of the most extensive online collections of early American genealogical records, the largest searchable collection of published genealogical research journals and magazines, and the largest collection of U.S Catholic records online. During this unplanned closure, please contact a librarian for assistance.

American Physical Society Journals

Contains full-text access to the APS Journal Archive back to 1893.

Ancestry Library

A PPL library card is required to access this database.

Census records and images, birth, marriage, and death records, military and immigration records are available in this library resource from Ancestry.com. Thousands of databases, posted or updated regularly.

Auto Repair Reference Center

Contains the most comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference information in the market, including information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. The database covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present.

BizMiner

This database is only available in the library.

Bizminer provides industry and area specific financial benchmarks for over 5,000 industries and market statistics for more than 9,000 industries. Start your industry search and market analysis here. This resource is available ONSITE only. During this unplanned closure, please contact a librarian for assistance.

Consumer Health Complete

Single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, this full-text database is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine and covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children’s health, men & women’s health, etc.

Explora Educator’s Edition (For Teachers and Educators)

Highlights content relevant to teachers, including lesson plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.

Explora for Public Libraries

Explora for Everyone is a new site for the general public that simultaneously searches 20 EBSCO databases for an easy one-stop search.

Explora Primary

EBSCO’s research database for students K-5 is the replacement for Searchasaurus and Kids Search and features colorful pictures and school subject categories for easy browsing.

Explora Secondary

Explora for Secondary Schools is the replacement for Kids Search and Student Research Center and features an easy to use site and updated features like the cite button.

Flipster

Flipster offers an easy, browsable magazine reading experience. Users can browse magazines by category as well as perform searches for specific periodicals. An online newsstand provides a carousel of the most recent issues, as well as a carousel of all issues allowing for quick access to magazines.

Foundation Directory Online Essential

Foundation Directory Online Essential (FDO) includes 103,000+ expanded grantmaker profiles,
300,000+ key decision makers and leaders, and searchable 990s and 990-PDFs. FDO Essential is the quickest, way to identify the ones that will fund you – and get in-depth profiles that help you write your winning proposals.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

This database is only available in the library.

The leading search engine for students, artists, researchers, and individuals searching for grants, scholarships, fellowships and awards. This resource is only available ONSITE. During this unplanned closure, please contact a librarian for assistance.

Gale Presents Udemy

A PPL library card is required to access this database.

Gale Presents: Udemy can help improve your career skills or further develop a personal interest
with access to more than 4,000 continuously updated, on-demand video courses. Explore the
many options across 75 categories in business, technology, design, and more taught by world-
class instructors.

INSTRUCTIONS: Use any Rhode Island Public Library Card Barcode to create an account and access.
Need a library card?

Kanopy

A PPL library card is required to access this database.

Kanopy is a streaming video service making quality documentaries, feature films, foreign films and training videos available to public library users. Kanopy offers access to a large, curated catalog of over 30,000 educational, entertaining, and enriching films for adults and children. 

Using Kanopy: Click on “Login” or if this is your first time using Kanopy, click on “Sign Up” to create a free Kanopy account. Available to PPL cardholders ONLY.

Films can be streamed via ppl.kanopy.com or by downloading the Kanopy mobile app for iOS, Amazon Fire, Android, AppleTV, Roku or Chromecast.

Learning Express Library

Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library’s resources will help you succeed. Each of the Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You’ll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that’s right for you.

Literary Reference Center

Comprehensive database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research, it is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and much more, as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.

Mango Languages

Mango is an online language learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

NoveList

A complete readers’ resource with information on over 250,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more.

NoveList K-8

Created especially for kids (and the adults who work with them), NoveList K-8 Plus has a colorful, graphic-rich homepage and is very easy to use. It provides access to information on over 30,500 nonfiction titles designed to support the curriculum and kids’ pleasure reading and is a great online resource for helping teachers, school media specialists and kids find that next great fiction read.

Points of View

A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. It provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.

Pressbooks

A PPL library card is required to access this database.

Interested in getting your novel, memoir, poetry collection, children’s book and more in eBook and print-ready formats? Pressbooks Public is an easy-to-use online tool that allows you to create professional quality versions of your book in ePUB, MOBI, PDF and more—all through the library.

Providence Journal Archives

A PPL library card is required to access this database.

Search more than 30 years of Rhode Island history with the Providence Journal Collection. Coverage from 1981 through today. Explore current and archived issues of the Providence Journal with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles, as well as content only published online.

Providence Journal Obituaries and Death Notices

A PPL library card is required to access this database.

Contains obituaries and death notices published in the Providence Journal since 1980.

ProvLibDigital

The online home for digitized items from the Providence Public Library Collections. Over 14,000 items and growing all the time.

Salud en Espanol (Consumer Health Complete Spanish Version)

Comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. Topic-specific reports covering all aspects of health offer valuable overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. A diverse collection of health-related themes: first aid, infant/ child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.

Sanborn Maps

ProQuest Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) provides digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of Rhode Island towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates.

(Remote users need Username and Password. Username: PROVIDENCE Password: publiclibrary  both are case-sensitive)  (Contact PPL Information Services if access issues: 401-455-8005)

 

SELF-e

A PPL library card is required to access this database.

SELF-e provides Providence’s self published authors a great opportunity to submit their e-book for circulation at PPL, libraries throughout Rhode Island, and possibly libraries nationwide.

World Book Online Reference Center

Multi-media World Book Encyclopedia, a Reference Library with primary resources from US History and Political Science and Law, plus a Spanish language encyclopedia.