Exterior of the Providence Public Library - facing Washington Street

Hours & Directions

150 Empire Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-455-8000

The venue is accessible to the handicapped. Please call ahead to (401) 455-8141 for specific accommodations.

Library Hours

Monday 12:30pm - 8:30pm
Tuesday 9:30am - 5:30pm
Wednesday 9:30am - 8:30pm
Thursday 9:30am - 5:30pm
Friday 9:30am - 2:00pm
Saturday 9:30am - 2:30pm
Sunday Closed

Directions to Providence Public Library

From the South
Take 95 North to the Broadway exit (Exit 21) and merge right as you come off the exit ramp. Stay in the right lane and continue straight through the light. You will see the Providence Hilton and the Civic Center on your left. Stay in the right lane as the road curves to the right. The Library is on your right. 

From the North
Take 95 South to the Atwells Avenue exit (Exit 21). Turn left off the exit at the light, and cross back over 95 and continue straight through one set of lights. The Providence Hilton is on your left. Take slight left at next set of lights, curving around to the right and then continuing straight on Empire Street to the next set of traffic lights. The Library is immediately on the right (150 Empire Street). If you have crossed the Washington Street intersection, you’ve passed us. 

From the East Bay or Southeastern Massachusetts areas
Take 195 West to 95 North to Exit 21 and continue with the directions "From the South." 

Nearby Parking Facilities

365 Parking - 55 Broadway and other locations (www.365-parking.com), 401-223-0620

DownCity Parking - 13 locations (www.downcityparking.com), 401-273-9466

Dunkin Donut Center Parking - 99 West Exchange Street, 401-458-6339

2019 Holiday Closures

  • New Year’s Holiday – Tuesday, January 1
  • Martin L. King, Jr. Day – Monday, January 21
  • President’s Day – Monday, February 18
  • Easter – Sunday, April 21
  • Memorial Day Holiday – Saturday, May 25; Sunday, May 26 & Monday, May 27
  • Independence Day – Thursday, July 4
  • Victory Day – Monday, August 12
  • Labor Day Holiday – Saturday, August 31; Sunday, September 1 & Monday, September 2
  • Columbus Day – Monday, October 14
  • Veteran’s Day – Monday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving – Thursday, November 28 (Closing at 5:30 pm Wednesday, November 27)
  • Christmas Holiday – Wednesday, December 25 (Closing at 1:30 pm Tuesday, December 24)
  • New Year’s Holiday –  Wednesday, January 1, 2020 (Closing at 1:30 pm Tuesday, December 31)